City of Greensboro
212 N Main St
Greensboro, GA 30642
706-453-2912 fax
E-Verify ID: 416319
Authorized: 5/11/2011
certified city of ethics
tree city usa

Boards / Commissions

Downtown Development Authority

Downtown Development Authority serves as the board of directors from the Better Hometown program. As a legal entity, DDA can buy and sale properties, borrow and spend money, and form partnerships with other public or private entities for the improvement of downtown.

Downtown Development Authority members are appointed by Greensboro City Council.

Current members include:

Mark Blanton-Chair
Brian Casey
Franky Lee
Chris Bragg
Morris Miller

Greensboro Historic Preservation Commission

Historic Preservation Commission is a commission of volunteers that serve as the review board for development questions within Greensboro’s Historic District. HPC reviews all signage and exterior changes to properties within the historic district. HPC review is an additional layer added to the city’s normal permitting processes, and most HPC decision requires an additional approval from the city’s planning department.

Historic Preservation Commission members are appointed by City Council.

Current members are:

Joel McRay- Chair
Joan Carpenter
Susan Higdon
Lindsay Sumner Powell

Historic Preservation Commission Membership Application

Tree Board

The tree board is a board of volunteers that administers a written plan for the care, preservation, pruning, planting, replanting, removal, or disposition of trees and shrubs on public lands within the City of Greensboro. The City of Greensboro has been recognized as a Tree City USA since 1993. Tree Board meets on the 2nd Tuesday at 10:00 am in the City Hall.

Tree Board members are appointed by City Council.

Current members are:

Dan Jones- Chair
Robert Harwel
Lisa Wheeler
Nancy Mittendorf
Diane Kirby
Daniel Reddick.
Jana Otis-Arborist

Greensboro Tree Board's Walking Tour of Trees

Greensboro Tree Ordinance

Tree Board Membership Application

Planning and Zoning Board

The Greensboro Planning and Zoning Board was established by Ordinance to review and make recommendations to the Greensboro City Council concerning all planning and zoning requests and changes pursuant to and in compliance with The Zoning Procedures Law (O.C.G.A. § 36-66-1 et seq.) and the zoning ordinance of the City of Greensboro, Georgia.

Current members include:

Terri Thornton - Chair
Cynthia Rivers
Terri Thornton
Russell Wall
Rick Ward
Bill Graden
Zone Administrator – Rick Zeier

Architectural Approval Board

The Greensboro Architectural Approval Board was established by Ordinance to review and make recommendations for building or development permits for new construction or the renovation or repurposing of commercial properties in the Greensboro Corridor Overlay Districts.

Current members include:

Larry Postell – City Manager
Cail Hammons – Community Development Director
Kendrick Ward – Main Street Manager
Richard Pendegrass – City Engineer
Rick Zeier – Building Official